Comcast Hacked …

At the time of this posting there hasn’t been any local coverage of this event which surprises me with the footprint that Comcast has in this area.

At 11:30 EST I was in my mail on Comcast.net and then I “just” wasn’t. Then I began my geek exercises … updating my system, viewing logs, pinging and trace routing the world … Once I was convinced that “it wasn’t my system” … I hit the nerd boards (many of which I am a member of I realized last night). Lo and Behold my suspicions have been confirmed, Comcast.net has been victimized!

Even the domain registration information has been hit … (Which is strange enough to me … Doesn’t that point to the registrar/whois and not to Comcast?) I can’t wait to see how this happened. Other notables thathave been hit by KRYOGENIKS EBK and DEFIANT RoXed COMCAST
sHouTz To VIRUS Warlock elul21 coll1er seven and Slacker
are sites for Hillary Duff, Justin Timberlake and Tia Tiquila.

Here is a great thread you can follow if interested … (LINK).
Downtime = 9.5 hrs and counting.

blk

** Update **

They’re back up .. at least propagating properly on the East Coast.

Only 9.5 hrs down.

be good good people!

~ by blkirish on May 29, 2008.

One Response to “Comcast Hacked …”

  1. it is interesting that their major downtime was not newsworthy other than online. I would’ve curled up in a corner sweating and shaking in withdrawal if my internet was unavailable for so long.

Leave a Reply

 
